maine on a single roll

So last may Liz and I took a trip to the coast of Maine.  The weather was amazing, the scenery unbelievable, and naturally I took tons of pictures.  One of my projects was to photograph the trip from start to finish on a single roll of film.  Using my Holga, I overlapped the exposures, forming one continuous composition.

This week I finally got a few rolls developed and I was pretty happy with the results.  These are just a few segments from the overall composition; now I need to figure out how to print the whole panarama (thoughts anyone?).  I’m definately gonna try this one again…

7 thoughts on “maine on a single roll

  1. The overlapping/double exposures look great! Are you using a Holga 120N? Or a different one? I have a 120 but haven’t been able to get anything decent out of it yet, haha — I’d love to hear if you have any tricks on proper exposure, etc.

    • Thanks Andrew, I was really happy with the way this turned out. I’m using the 120CFN. Its the same as the 120N but with the addition of a flash carousel with 4 different color gels (mine’s a fancy olive green color).

      In terms of tricks… I’m not sure I have any, but lately I try to stick to brightly lit (easy) conditions. I have used the flash a bit in low light and indoor environs, but the results were iffy; some OK, but a lot of gray.

      I’m trying to figure out a way to prepare the negative so i can print the composition in its entirety… I was going to just make enlarged prints (8.5″x11″ portraits) and manually join them. I’m not sure I want to go the route of scanning (cost), but it is an option. Do you have any thoughts?

  2. Ah – I actually have the same olive green one, haha. Maybe I should just man-up and give it another go, in brighter light scenarios, like you’re suggesting.

    That sounds like a tricky situation (printing a continuous image roll). For those 35mm double-exposed Bike Kill shots I took the other month, the lab (PhotoFaction in Park Slope) scanned them in fairly arbitrary pieces/frames, since the frames didn’t quite align perfectly, and returned the negatives to me uncut (rather than in roughly 4-5 frames per piece).

    The quality of small labs’ scans of film seem to be only web-worthy (though I suppose to scan film in order to print it from a file might be a little bit round-about). Though, if you have access to a drum scanner (or equivalent), it may be a slightly different story.

    But, what I’m saying is, I don’t actually have any helpful advise on avoiding the piecing-it-together part, sorry 😦

    • What troubles have you had with the Holga? For me it was mostly trial and error; I’ve taken some long breaks from it, and for the moment it seems to be working for me, but thats always subject to change.

      You know, its funny I had a similar experience at Manhattan photo lab on 20th. I didn’t even request prints, but they came back… with large gaps. For me the whole point was to print this as one piece, and the negative shows that it worked out pretty well. I don’t know much about drum scanners, or film scanners in general for that matter, other than it is a costly process. I figured for the money, I’d rather have real prints that I make myself.

      Actually I like the idea of it being crafted by hand, to some extent it feels like it would compliment the process.

  3. Pingback: maipu « scene streets

Leave a Reply

